Central CPUs, fail-safe CPUs, racks, and distributed-I/O control roles
Category hub / PLC / CPU
PLC and CPU references - identify, recover, replace
A PLC or CPU reference is only useful when it stays connected to its rack, firmware, safety role, and machine context. This hub starts with the reference itself, then records what is known before a source, repair, exchange, or replacement decision is made.
Catalogue references
537 catalogue references
537 catalogue references.
| Rank | Reference | Manufacturer | Type | System role | Evidence | Status | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 151 | 6ES5417-7AA21 | Not stated | Not stated | Controls field output switching by providing 8 relay outputs for switching 30 V DC to 250 V AC loads at up to 5 A. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 152 | 6ES5420-8MA11 | Not stated | Not stated | Receives four field on/off states through 4 non-isolated 24 V DC digital inputs for the listed legacy systems. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 153 | 6ES5441-7LA11 | Not stated | Not stated | Controls discrete field loads through 32 non-floating 24 V DC digital outputs rated at 0.5 A. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 154 | 6ES5451-4UA12 | Not stated | Not stated | Controls isolated field loads through 32 potential-isolated 24 V DC digital outputs rated at 0.5 A for S5-135U and S5-155U systems; S5-115U use requires the listed adapter. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 155 | 6ES5457-4UA12 | Not stated | Not stated | Controls DC field loads through 16 floating digital outputs for 24, 48, or 60 V DC loads at 0.5 A. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 156 | 6ES5458-7LC11 | Not stated | Not stated | Controls isolated relay switching through 16 galvanically isolated relay outputs, arranged in groups of four, with a 24 V DC relay supply. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 157 | 6ES5463-4UA12 | Not stated | Not stated | Processes field measurements through 4 floating analog inputs for 1 V, 10 V, 20 mA, or 4-20 mA signals. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 158 | 6ES5470-4UA12 | Not stated | Not stated | Controls analog field signals through 8 floating analog outputs with +/-10 V or 0-20 mA ranges. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 159 | 6ES5470-4UA13 | Not stated | Not stated | Controls analog field signals through 8 analog outputs carrying current or voltage signals; secondary product data lists +/-10 V and 0-20 mA ranges. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 160 | 6ES5470-7LB12 | Not stated | Not stated | Controls analog field signals through 8 floating analog outputs with +/-10 V signals. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 161 | 6ES5470-7LB13 | Not stated | Not stated | Controls analog field signals through 8 isolated analog outputs with +/-10 V signals. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 162 | 6ES5524-3UA15 | Not stated | Not stated | Routes data between supported S5 PLC systems and a host or minicomputer through the selected interface module. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 163 | 6ES5710-8MA11 | Not stated | Not stated | Receives and positions automation modules on a galvanized 35 mm rail inside a control cabinet. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 164 | 6ES5727-1BD20 | Not stated | Not stated | Transmits connection signals across a 3.2 m 727-1 connecting cable. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 165 | 6ES5727-1CC00 | Not stated | Not stated | Transmits connection signals across a 20 m 727-1 connecting cable. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 166 | 6ES5928-3UB11 | Not stated | Not stated | Executes S5 control logic; the documented SI2 interface supports configurable serial communication parameters and mailboxes. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 167 | 6ES5928-3UB12 | Not stated | Not stated | Executes S5 control logic and coordinates the central controller interfaces with the S5 I/O process image. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 168 | 6ES5930-7AA11 | Not stated | Not stated | Converts 220 VAC input to 5 VDC at 0.7 A for the S5-110A control system. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 169 | 6ES5943-7UB21 | Not stated | Not stated | Executes S5-115U control logic and provides two 20 mA current-loop TTY interfaces for programming or operational communication. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 170 | 6ES5944-7UB21 | Not stated | Not stated | processes the S5 user program and exchanges process data through its documented interfaces. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 171 | 6ES5945-7UA13 | Not stated | Not stated | processes the S5-115U control program as the central processing unit. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 172 | 6ES5948-3UA12 | Not stated | Not stated | processes the S5 user program and interfaces with the S5 central controller. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 173 | 6ES5948-3UA13 | Not stated | Not stated | processes the S5-155U user program and exposes the documented CPU interfaces. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 174 | 6ES5951-7LB21 | Not stated | Not stated | converts the incoming AC supply into the 5 V DC rail used by the S5-115U/H system. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 175 | 6ES5951-7LD21 | Not stated | Not stated | supplies the S5-115U/H rack with its 5 V DC supply. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 176 | 6ES5955-3LC14 | Not stated | Not stated | converts 115/230 V AC into the DC rails feeding the S5 rack. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 177 | 6ES5955-3LC41 | Not stated | Not stated | supplies regulated DC rails to the S5-135U/155U rack. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 178 | 6ES5955-3LC42 | Not stated | Not stated | supplies the S5 controller and expansion-unit rails from an AC input. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 179 | 6ES5955-3LF12 | Not stated | Not stated | supplies high-current DC rails in the S5 rack. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 180 | 6ES5955-3LF41 | Not stated | Not stated | supplies the S5 rack DC power rails. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 181 | 6ES5955-3LF42 | Not stated | Not stated | supplies the rack 5 V, 15 V and 24 V rails from AC input. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 182 | 6ES5955-3LF44 | Not stated | Not stated | supplies high-current DC power to the S5 rack. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 183 | 6ES5955-3NC42 | Not stated | Not stated | converts 24 V DC input into regulated S5 rack supply rails. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 184 | 6ES5981-0HA11 | Not stated | Not stated | routes cooling air through a long S5 rack to support thermal management. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 185 | 6ES7-316-1AG00-0AB0 | Not stated | Not stated | processes the S7-300 user program in the CPU 316 controller. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 186 | 6ES7131-6BF01-0BA0 | Not stated | Not stated | receives eight 24 V DC digital field signals and makes their states available to the controller. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 187 | 6ES7131-6BH01-0BA0 | Not stated | Not stated | Receives discrete 24 V DC field signals on 16 inputs for a Siemens I/O automation station. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 188 | 6ES7131-6FD00-0BB1 | Not stated | Not stated | receives four 120 to 230 V AC digital field signals for the distributed I/O platform controller. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 189 | 6ES7132-0BH11-0XB0 | Not stated | Not stated | Switches 24 V DC field loads through 16 digital output channels in a distributed I/O station. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 190 | 6ES7132-1BH11-0XB0 | Not stated | Not stated | Controls 24 V DC solenoid valves, DC contactors, and indicator lamps through 16 digital outputs in a distributed I/O station. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 191 | 6ES7133-0BN11-0XB0 | Not stated | Not stated | Processes 24 V DC digital field signals through 24 inputs and 8 outputs in a distributed I/O station. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 192 | 6ES7133-1BL10-0XB0 | Not stated | Not stated | Processes 24 V DC digital signals through 16 inputs and 16 outputs in a distributed I/O station. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 193 | 6ES7134-6GB00-0BA1 | Not stated | Not stated | Converts two-wire or four-wire current-loop signals into controller input data in a distributed I/O platform station. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 194 | 6ES7134-6GD01-0BA1 | Not stated | Not stated | Processes analog field signals for the controller through the distributed I/O platform station. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 195 | 6ES7134-6GF00-0AA1 | Not stated | Not stated | Receives analog current signals through eight inferred 2-wire or 4-wire input channels for a Siemens I/O automation station. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 196 | 6ES7136-6BA00-0CA0 | Not stated | Not stated | Receives fail-safe 24 V DC input signals and passes their status to the safety controller through a distributed I/O platform station. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 197 | 6ES7137-6AA01-0BA0 | Not stated | Not stated | Transmits serial data between an external RS-232, RS-422, or RS-485 device and the distributed I/O platform controller. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 198 | 6ES7138-4DA00-0AB0 | Not stated | Not stated | Measures count, speed, frequency, or period signals from an incremental encoder for a distributed I/O station controller. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 199 | 6ES7138-4DB03-0AB0 | Not stated | Not stated | Receives SSI absolute-encoder data and presents the position value to the distributed I/O station controller. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
| 200 | 6ES7138-4FA05-0AB0 | Not stated | Not stated | Receives fail-safe 24 V DC input signals and transmits them to the safety controller through PROFIsafe. | Individual research | PUBLISHED | Open reference |
What this category covers
Reference identity, successor checks, firmware and network context
Evidence needed before repair, exchange, or a compatible replacement
Integration status: 16 catalogue identities integrated; identity pages are indexable and optional evidence is omitted when unavailable
Choose a recovery path
Editorial queue
9 draft / 1 published
Published guides passed the shared evidence evaluator. Draft entries remain noindex until their body, sources, review window, provenance, and category path pass the same gates.
| Intent | Question | Summary | Source notes | Integration | Preview |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| How to identify a PLC CPU from its nameplate | Which nameplate fields prove a PLC CPU identity? | A practical intake sequence for the reference, revision, family, and visible condition. | docs/data/v1-guide-publication-review.md; Siemens SIMATIC S7-1200 system manual V4.5: https://cache.industry.siemens.com/dl/files/241/109797241/att_1066673/v1/s71200_system_manual_en-US_en-US.pdf; Siemens 6ES7214-1AG40-0XB0 product data: https://mall.industry.siemens.com/goos/catalog/Pages/mmpdata.ashx?MLFB1=6ES7214-1AG40-0XB0&lang=en; Siemens 6ES7214-1BG40-0XB0 product data: https://mall.industry.siemens.com/goos/catalog/Pages/mmpdata.ashx?MLFB1=6ES7214-1BG40-0XB0&lang=en | PUBLISHED - INDEXABLE | Open published guide |
| PLC CPU or I/O module: what is the difference? | How can a technician tell the controller from an I/O module? | Explain the control role and the evidence that separates a CPU from its connected modules. | docs/data/data-model.md; Manufacturer documentation required before publication | DRAFT - NOT INDEXABLE | Open draft |
| What to record before recovering a fail-safe PLC CPU | What safety and configuration evidence is needed before recovery? | Define a safe intake boundary for a fail-safe controller without promising compatibility. | docs/product/comparison-and-recovery-model.md; Qualified technical evidence required | DRAFT - NOT INDEXABLE | Open draft |
| How to check a PLC CPU successor reference | What must be compared before accepting a successor? | A comparison checklist for hardware, firmware, safety, wiring, and project constraints. | docs/data/data-model.md; Manufacturer documentation required before publication | DRAFT - NOT INDEXABLE | Open draft |
| Why network context matters for a PLC CPU | Which network details affect a CPU replacement? | Show why a part number alone cannot confirm a drop-in replacement in a control network. | docs/product/comparison-and-recovery-model.md; Qualified technical evidence required | DRAFT - NOT INDEXABLE | Open draft |
| Planning around an obsolete PLC CPU | What should be documented when a PLC CPU is obsolete? | Separate evidence gathering, machine risk, sourcing, and migration decisions. | docs/data/data-management.md; Current manufacturer status required | DRAFT - NOT INDEXABLE | Open draft |
| PLC repair or replacement: which evidence helps? | When is repair evidence more useful than a replacement quote? | Frame the recovery decision around symptoms, downtime, configuration, and available evidence. | docs/product/comparison-and-recovery-model.md; Repair capability evidence required | DRAFT - NOT INDEXABLE | Open draft |
| A control-cabinet checklist for PLC identification | What should be photographed during a PLC cabinet audit? | List the cabinet and machine context that makes a reference request actionable. | /how-it-works/#request-checklist; Technical evidence required | DRAFT - NOT INDEXABLE | Open draft |
| PLC reference aliases and formatting | Why do the same PLC references appear in different formats? | Document normalization without treating an alias as proof of product identity. | docs/data/data-model.md; Source evidence required | DRAFT - NOT INDEXABLE | Open draft |
| What evidence to send with a PLC request | Which files and photos make a PLC request useful? | A short evidence pack for reference, symptom, machine, and desired recovery route. | /how-it-works/#request-checklist; Ardkor intake policy | DRAFT - NOT INDEXABLE | Open draft |
Have better evidence?
Send the exact reference, photos, symptom, and machine context. The category stays useful while each product and article is reviewed separately.
Submit a reference